Markings Question

Started by Flyfast1, Mon, 10/01/12, 07:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Flyfast1

Hello,

As a novice scale modeler, I have a question about markings that I hope someone can answer.  If my marking documentation for a Supermarine Spitfire that I use in competition shows a squadron/aircraft code of "ABC" ("AB" designating the squadron and "C" designating the particular aircraft) and I have "ABD" on my aircraft, is there a score reduction, assuming that everything else about the markings is correct, i.e., size, shape, color, orientation, location, etc.?  I am wondering whether the marking documentation presented can be representative of the actual documentation, to allow the markings on the plane to be slightly changed for personal preference, or whether they have to match exactly?  Based upon Section 3.3 of the Competition Guide, it appears that they may need to match exactly to avoid a score reduction, but I wanted to confirm.

Thanks,

-Ed B.

j_whitney

That is correct for the classes that have static judging.  Those that don't (AMA Fun Scale types) SHOULD have a picture of the exact aircraft, but pictures squadron mates are acceptable.

When I say pictures I am including artist's renditions as well.

BTW - the deduction would be fairly small - 1/4 point I think? - debpending on the actual severity of the mis-mark (e.g,i, f you went from ABC to XYZ.  Another BTW - American squadron codes are generally written AB*C, German AB+C, and British are AB o C.- the * =  the star, the + obviously the cross and the o equates to the roundel
Jeff Whitney
Chairman, Advisory Committee
Newsletter Editor

Flyfast1

Sorry, I should have been more specific.  So for classes that have full static judging, e.g., expert, team and advanced, the markings on the model have to match the documentation exactly, yes?

-Ed B.

j_whitney

yes, or suffer a deduction,  See my modified post above
Jeff Whitney
Chairman, Advisory Committee
Newsletter Editor

Flyfast1